Fabula Press

Fabula Press hosts two short story competitions every year, for the two anthologies Aestas and Nivalis.  

We shall be accepting submissions for Aestas from 10 August 2022, upto 09 November 2022. There is no theme for the contest; also, barring a few exceptions, we are flexible about genre. Simply put, we are looking for are great stories that stay with the reader; so while we are heavy on ‘literary fiction’, we would welcome a Poesque tale of horror or mystery, an enchanting work of historical fiction, or light science fiction in the style of Connie Willis’ Firewatch, or Edgar Pangborn’s The Music Master of Babylon. Hard science fiction, fantasy, young adult or chick lit do not work for us, though.  

The contest will be judged by four independent judges, and the results will be announced in February 2023. Three winners will be selected from the entrants, and will be awarded prizes as detailed in the below guidelines (see ‘Prizes‘). In addition, depending on the length and quality of submission, a long-list of stories will be selected for publication in an anthology which will be sold through leading online bookstores, and all authors so published will be paid an honourarium of US$75 each.

Please read through the contest guidelines before submitting.

Click the button below to submit:

Submit through Duosuma

2022 Fabula Press Short Story Contest Rules

Sponsor: This short story contest (“the Contest”) is sponsored by Fabula Press (www.pressfabula.com – “the website”), referred to as the ‘sponsor’ hereafter.

Eligibility: The Contest is open to all writers 18 years old or above. There is no limit to the number of entries per person, but this is not bingo, and more submissions do not necessarily translate into higher chances of winning.

Contest Prizes: Apart from publication of long listed authors in an anthology, a total of three prizes will be awarded as below.

First Prize: US$500
Second Prize: US$250
Third Prize: US$150

All other longlisted authors selected for publication in the short story contest anthology shall be paid an honorarium of US$75 each

Simultaneous submissions: Allowed, but authors must let us know if the story is accepted elsewhere before our results are announced.   

Entry fee: US$10. Multiple submissions are allowed, but every entry must be accompanied by the entry fee.

Contest and Judging Criteria:
Entries for Aestas 2022 competition will be accepted upto 11:59 p.m. (GMT) of 09 November 2022. Submissions should be through the Duosuma Submissions Manager tool on the website. 

Stories must be written in English, original and unpublished up to the time the winners are declared on or about 28 February 2023. The contest will be blind judged, so the submitted document should only contain the name of the story and the word count, and no information about the author.

Stories must be double-spaced, in a readable font (Times New Roman, Arial, Garamond, etc.), font size 12 and not less than 2000 words. Upper word limit is 6000, but longer stories of exceptional merit may be considered at the discretion of the judges.

Pseudonyms are not permitted during contest entry. However, where a story is shortlisted for publication, pseudonyms may be accepted for publishing the story. 

All submissions are final. No changes or substitutions to a story are allowed once your entry is received.

Queries before submission are welcome but must relate to the contest rules or if there are difficulties in submission.

By entering the Contest, entrants agree to allow Fabula Press to publish their stories, names and biographical information in all media, including but not limited to newspapers and websites, without any compensation save the contest awards as detailed under ‘prizes’ to the notified winners. However, the above clause shall be null and void for a non-shortlisted entry and all rights will revert to the authors.

Do not send photographs with entries. Winners will be contacted about a photograph at a later date and must agree to publication of his/her photograph in the contest anthology.

In connection with the submission, the contest entrant affirms, represents and/or warrants that she/he owns or has the necessary licenses, rights, consents and permissions to use and authorize Sponsors to use all copyright, trademark or other proprietary rights in and to the submission to enable inclusion and use of the submission in the manner contemplated by these Contest rules.

Sponsor reserves the right to reject and disqualify any submissions that could be offensive or inappropriate or that do not meet the terms and conditions of these rules.

In case of any dispute, the sponsor’s liability is limited to refund of the contest entry fee.

Judging and notification: The Fabula Press team will complete the first round of judging. The finalists’ entries (‘the shortlist) will then be judged by the 2022 Fabula Press  Short Story Contest judges’ panel, who will select the First, Second and Third prize winners based on a 9 point scoring matrix on Plot and / or Character build up, quality of narrative, and relevance of the plot vis-a-vis the theme. Final decisions will be based on the sum total of the scores from the judges. Decisions of the contest judges will be final in respect of any matter relating to this Contest.

Winners of the short story contest will be contacted by email by the Sponsors, and must reply within two working weeks to maintain eligibility. If the winner(s) cannot be contacted within this time period or fail(s) to respond to any attempted contact, such winner(s) will be disqualified, his/her entry will be declared null and void and the Sponsor reserves the right, in its sole and absolute discretion, to select another winner based on the judging criteria, in which event these provisions shall apply to such other eligible entry.

All payments will be through PayPal. While other modes of payment can be considered for countries where PayPal does not operate, it is the entrants’ responsibility to check that there is a viable payment method from Hong Kong to their country of residence.

Ownership/Use RightsEntrants retain the copyright to their stories.

Indemnity: By participating in this Contest, you agree to defend, indemnify and hold harmless the Sponsors, and their office bearers from any and all damages, injuries, claims, causes of action, or losses of any kind (including but not limited to lawyers’ fees) arising from your participation in the Contest, your violation of any term of these Contest rules, your violation of any third party right, including without limitation any copyright, property, or privacy right; or any claim that your submission caused damage to a third party.

BanningThe Sponsor may, in its sole discretion, prohibit any person from entering the Contest whom it believes to be abusing the rules. Such abuse includes but is not limited to falsification of information and/or identity, plagiarism, racial discrimination and bigotry.

Force Majuere clause: The Sponsors are not liable for failure to perform their obligations under these rules if such failure is as a result of Acts of God (including fire, flood, earthquake, storm, hurricane or other natural disaster), war, invasion, act of foreign enemies, hostilities (regardless of whether war is declared), civil war, rebellion, revolution, insurrection, military or usurped power or confiscation, terrorist activities, nationalisation, government sanction, blockage, embargo, or interruption or massive and sustained failure of electricity, internet or telephone service.

Any extension / contraction of short story contest window will be at the sole discretion of the organisers, and will be notified on the website.

Designed and Maintained by Fabula Press